The Four Levels of Software Testing

This week’s blog is about the four levels of software testing.  There are four main levels of testing that needs to be done before a program is ready for use: unit testing, integration testing, system testing, and acceptance testing.

Unit Testing

Unit testing is the first round of testing. In Unit Testing, the program is assessed with the focus on specific units or components of the software to determine whether each of them is working correctly. A unit can be referred to as a function, an individual program or even a procedure. The white-box testing method is usually used to do this kind of job since it is based on the analysis of the internal structure of the system or component.

Integration Testing

Integration testing, on the other hand, allows you to combine all of the units within a program and can be tested as a group. It is designed to find interface defects between modules or functions. It is very useful because it measures how efficiently the units are running together.

System Testing

System testing is the test ran after the application is actually completed and tested. The goal of this test is to check whether the system met all the requirements and see if it meets the Quality Standards. This test is done by testers that were not part of the development team. It is performed in an environment that’s somewhat the same as production. System testing verifies that the application meets the technical, functional, and business requirements that were set by the customers.

Acceptance Testing

Acceptance testing is the final test. This test basically determines if the application is ready to be released. During this phase, the users test the systems to find out if the application meets the business’ needs. Once this is completed, the application is ready to be delivered to production.

I find this blog interesting because at first, it looks like a really simple process to create an application and put it out on production but there are actually different levels to it. This has changed the way I think about software development. Just thinking about the process of testing the application, I could already see it having a great importance in software development. Also, you could be moving back and forth on the different levels of testing when the specification changes.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s